Pushing through

I don’t know if it is because I am nearing the end of the semester, or if it is just where I am at in life, but I am in a rut.

I’m tired of the routine. I’m unwilling/unmotivated to be creative. I lack the drive to challenge myself. In other words, I’m too comfortable with where I am at right now.

I am about three weeks till the end of the semester, and I must say, I am ecstatic for the summer. I am excited to have a break from school responsibilities and to ditch the textbooks for books that I enjoy. I am excited to go to new places that I have never gone before, whether it be in the city of Tucson or in South America. (Yes, you read that right!!) I am excited to spend more time with those whom I love. I am excited to create more content and to have more time to spend being creative.

Nevertheless, I am in SERIOUS need of motivation, and I bet I am not the only one. After asking some of my friends and thinking on what strategies I use, I compiled a list of eight ways to get motivated, for this day, for this week, this month, or the rest of the year.

  1. Surround yourself with other motivated people or strike up a conversation about your goals with a close friend. Talking about goals with others can serve as inspiration in itself!
  2. Go outside. Seriously. I know everyone says this, but going outside, whether for a walk, a jog or a hike can change your entire day around. After your endorphins kick in, your mind will seem clearer. Accomplishing this simple task will encourage you to tackle more tasks.
  3. Think on and memorize a quote that you find to be inspiring, even if it may be cliche. Some common ones are, “Though she be but little she was fierce,” or “Life is tough, but darling, so are you.” My personal favorite is from Psalms 46:5, “God is within her, she will not fail.”
  4. Write down your goals, both short-term or long-term. Carefully break them down into small and manageable steps. It is much easier to feel productive and therefore be more motivated if every small step gets a check mark once it is completed.
  5. Go somewhere new. Take a break from your favorite neighborhood cafe and instead, try that new restaurant or new coffee shop. Being out of your comfort zone and around new people will help you see things in a different perspective.
  6. Listen to a cheesy podcast, read an inspiring book, or watch a Ted talk. My recent favorite Ted talk is “How to get better at the things you care about,” by Eduardo Briceno.
  7. Forget about the details and think about why you are doing what you are currently doing. For example, I need to step back and ask myself why I am currently enrolled in college. Or why I am currently working on a blog post. Knowing the purpose behind what we are doing is significant, because too often we lose sight of the “big picture” and stress about the specifics.
  8. Lastly, acknowledge what you have already done to get to the place where you are currently. As for me, with three weeks left, am I going to throw away the entire semester and the grades that I have earned just because I am not very motivated lately? OF COURSE NOT. I am going to use everything that I have already accomplished in this semester to propel me towards the end.

I hope that you feel a little more inspired and motivated after reading this. I know that after writing this, I feel a little less “stuck,” so I’ll count that as a success.

Jenny

P.S. My Tucson friends, any suggestions on coffee shops or hole-in-the-wall cafes? Asking for a friend… 🙂

 

 

One thought on “Pushing through

Leave a Reply

