Treat Yo’ Self

Some may think that treating yourself to something means spending money, but I beg to differ. I think that you can “treat yourself” even better if you don’t spend a lot or any money!

 

 

After long weeks of classes, work, homework and adulting, I normally treat myself to something on the weekends. Here are my ten favorite ways to show myself a little love and appreciation for free:

  1. Cook yourself dinner. Make something super easy or try that new complicated, 12-step recipe that you found on Pinterest.
  2. Paint your nails. I love this because it requires making myself sit down for about an hour and do nothing while I wait for them to dry.
  3. Write a letter. You would be surprised about how good you feel after you send it off in the mail!
  4. Journal. Journaling is one of my favorite things to do, but I don’t get to do it very often in the middle of the week. Take time to sit down and write about how you are doing and process through your week.
  5. Watch a movie. I love curling up on the couch to watch a movie! I have a few favorites that I love to watch, but I am always up for watching something new too. Maybe put on a face mask while you are at it too!
  6. Go on a hike/walk. Hikes and walks put me in such a good mood, and if I am not rushing to get somewhere, then it is even better!
  7. Shop your closet. Create 3 new outfit combinations with things that you already own. I love doing this, because it makes me focus on what I have, not on what I want.
  8. Brain dump. This is similar to journaling, but I love to treat myself by writing EVERYTHING that has been circling in my head down on paper. You might end up with a long list of things that you feel like you need to do, but I have learned that it is less stressful to see them all on paper.
  9. Call someone you haven’t talked to in a while. Connecting with others is a great way to destress, as well as let someone know that you care about them and are thinking of them!
  10. Read a book. One of my FAVORITE things to do is to stay in bed or on the couch for an hour or two and read for pleasure. It is also a perfect way to sneak in a short afternoon nap!

I think that it is safe to say that our consumeristic culture promotes spending a lot of money and buying luxury goods to help ourselves feel better and well-cared for, but these feelings do not last long. While it is okay to buy yourself something nice every once in a while, I think it is more important to know what makes you feel relaxed, refreshed and renewed, without having to deplete your savings account.

What are some ways that you treat yourself? 🙂

Jenny

2 thoughts on “Treat Yo’ Self

Leave a Reply

